Indianz.Com > News > Native America Calling: State recognition roadblocks for tribes
All Episodes on Spotify | More Options
Native America Calling: State recognition roadblocks for tribes
Monday, November 13, 2023

State recognition roadblocks for tribes
The state of Louisiana just denied the addition of two more tribes to the list of 15 that already have state recognition.

The process is drawing criticism for a lack of clarity on what tribes need to do to achieve recognition status.

Monday on Native America Calling with Shawn Spruce, check in with Louisiana tribes and others for a look at different requirements for state recognition.

State Recognition in Louisiana
According to the Louisiana Office of Indian Affairs, the following 11 tribes have state recognition:

  • Adai Caddo Indians of Louisiana
  • Bayou Lafourche Band of Biloxi-Chitimacha Confederation of Muskogees
  • Choctaw-Apache Tribe of Ebarb
  • Clifton Choctaw Tribe of Louisiana
  • Four Winds Cherokee
  • Grand Caillou/Dulac Band of Biloxi Chitimacha Choctaw
  • Jean Charles Choctaw Nation
  • Louisiana Band of Choctaw
  • Natchitoches Tribe of Louisiana
  • Pointe-au Chien Indian Tribe
  • United Houma Nation

Federal Recognition in Louisiana
Louisiana is home to four federally-recognized Indian nations:

  • Chitimacha Tribe
  • Coushatta Tribe
  • Jena Band of Choctaw Indians
  • Tunica-Biloxi Tribe

native america calling
Native America Calling
Listen to Native America Calling every weekday at 1pm Eastern.
Alternate Links: Native Voice One | NAC