Indianz.Com > News > Senate Committee on Indian Affairs hosts climate crisis roundtable
Note: Video feed from the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs will begin shortly before 2:30pm Eastern.
Senate Committee on Indian Affairs hosts climate crisis roundtable
Wednesday, March 10, 2021

On Clubhouse: Indianz.Com Listening Room [Audio Only]

The Senate Committee on Indian Affairs will be hearing from Native leaders and advocates about the impacts of climate change in their communities.

Sen. Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), the chairman of the committee, is leading the roundtable on Wednesday afternoon. The following leaders and advocates, representing communities in the 48 states and Hawaii, are scheduled to present:

Honorable Amber Torres
Walker River Paiute Tribe, Nevada

Honorable Craig Quanchello
Picuris Pueblo, New Mexico

Honorable Shelley Buck
Prairie Island Indian Community, Minnesota

Honorable Timothy Davis
Blackfeet Nation, Montana

Honorable Charlene Nelson
Shoalwater Bay Tribe, Washington

Jack Wong
Chief Executive Officer
Kamehameha Schools, Hawaii

Nikoosh Carlo (Koyukon Athabascan)
Founder + Chief Strategist
CNC North Consulting

Sen. Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii) presides over a hearing of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs on February 24, 2021. Photo: SCIA

The roundtable will be immediately preceded by a business meeting on nine bills at 2:30pm Eastern. Both will be broadcast on

Members of Clubhouse can also join a listening room hosted by Indianz.Com in the afternoon. Anyone seeking an invite to the audio-based platform can send a direct message to @indianz on Twitter or to indianzcom on Facebook.

The Clubhouse app is currently limited to Apple devices. A phone number is required to join but users are not required to share their contacts with the platform unless they want to invite others.

Senate Committee on Indian Affairs Notice
Business Meeting to consider S. 325, S. 314, S. 144, S. 371, S. 108, S. 548, S. 549, S. 550, & S. 559 and Roundtable on “Native Communities and the Climate Crisis” (March 10, 2021)