Indianz.Com > COVID-19 > Navajo Nation (Arizona, New Mexico, Utah)
Posted: June 2, 2021


On this day 153 years ago, Navajo leaders signed the Treaty of 1868 with the United States at Fort Sumner, NM. In 1864, the Navajo people were forcefully removed from their homelands and walked over 300 miles east to Bosque Redondo, N.M., known as Hwéeldi. The signing of the Treaty of 1868, Naaltsoos Sání, allowed the Navajo people to return to their homelands and established a government-to-government relationship between with the U.S. government.
“As we continue in our fight against the modern day monster known as COVID-19, please take a moment to reflect on our history and to appreciate our ancestors and elders for the sacrifices and hardships they endured so that we could be here today. Our elders continue to instill strength, hope, and perseverance in us to this day to help overcome adversities such as this pandemic. Please take time to reflect and to offer a prayer for our ancestors, past and current leaders, and all of our Navajo people,” said Navajo Nation President Jonathan Nez.
“Today, take the opportunity to talk and teach our children about our Diné life principles, values, culture, history, and language. Our history, teachings, and culture provide us with invaluable strength that can help prosper in our homes, families, and communities. The Treaty of 1868 is one significant aspect of our past, but we also have much more to offer others and future generations,” he added.
“The Naaltsoos Sání is the final treaty that the Navajo people signed with the U.S. Government and marks a shift in Navajo history from a time of many challenges to the reclamation of our independence, sovereignty, and self-determination. Today, we remember the strength and determination that our past Navajo leaders and people practiced. Each day, we are blessed and fortunate to live within our homelands, and this time allows us to remember that we overcame many obstacles and that we will continue to overcome many challenges before us,” said Vice President Myron Lizer.
Join the Conversation