Senate bill to recognize six Va. tribes advances
Thursday, October 30, 2003

The Senate Indian Affairs Committee on Wednesday approved legislation to grant federal recognition to six Virginia tribes.

The tribes are the Nansemond, Chickahominy, Eastern Chickahominy, Monacan, Rappahannock and Upper Mattaponi. The tribes have state recognition.

The Pamunkey and the Mattaponi tribes are not part of the legislation.

Get the Story:
Six Virginia tribes get closer to federal recognition (AP 10/30)
Senate Panel Approves Sovereign Status For Six Virginia Tribes (AP 10/30)

Get the Bill:
The Thomasina E. Jordan Indian Tribes of Virginia Federal Recognition Act of 2003 (S.1423)

Related Stories:
GOP Editorial: Say no to Virginia's tribes (05/19)
BIA opposes Va. recognition bill (09/27)
Va. tribes rally for sovereignty (4/30)
Recognition of Va. tribes opposed (1/26)
Recognition bills crowd Congress (11/29)
Virginia tribes: Recognition Yes, Casinos No (09/19)

All stories in the Indianz.Com Archive are available for publishing under a Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)