National | Federal Recognition

BIA publishes list of federally recognized tribes on time again

Assistant Secretary Kevin Washburn. Photo from Bureau of Indian Affairs

The Bureau of Indian Affairs has once again published the list of federally recognized tribes on schedule.

The Federally Recognized Indian Tribe List Act of 1994 requires the BIA to publish the list "annually on or before every January 30." But in the last decade, the agency was severely late several times and didn't even bother with the list for two of those years.

That's changed under Assistant Secretary Kevin Washburn. The list has now been published on time for the last two years.

"The listed Indian entities are acknowledged to have the immunities and privileges available to federally recognized Indian tribes by virtue of their government-to-government relationship with the United States as well as the responsibilities, powers, limitations and obligations of such tribes," Washburn said in a notice that was published in today's issue of the Federal Register.

The list contains the names of all 566 federally recognized tribes.

Federal Register Notice:
Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs (January 14, 2015)

Related Stories:
BIA publishes list of federally recognized tribes on schedule (1/28)

Join the Conversation