Witness list for Senate Indian Affairs Committee's hearing

The Senate Indian Affairs Committee is holding a hearing this afternoon on S.919, the Department of the Interior Tribal Self-Governance Act.

The bill streamlines the process for approving self-governance compacts and annual funding agreements at the Interior Department. The witness list follows:
Panel I:
THE HONORABLE KEVIN WASHBURN, Assistant Secretary–Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior, Washington, DC

Panel II:
THE HONORABLE W. RON ALLEN, Chairman, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe

THE HONORABLE RON TRAHAN, Chairman, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes,

MR. JERRY ISAAC, President, Tanana Chiefs Conference

MR. MICKEY PEERCY, Executive Director for Self-Governance, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

The hearing will be preceding by a business meeting. Two items are on the agenda:
S.1448, a bill to provide for equitable compensation to the Spokane Tribe of Washington. The committee held a hearing on the bill on September 10.
• The nomination of Vince Logan, a member of the Osage Nation of Oklahoma, to serve as the Special Trustee for American Indians. The committee voted in favor of Logan last month but the Senate failed to act so President Barack Obama resubmitted the nomination earlier this month.

The business meeting and hearing take place at 2:30pm in Room 628 of the Senate Dirksen Building.

Committee Notices:
Business Meeting (January 29, 2014)
Legislative Hearing on S. 919 (January 29, 2014)

Related Stories:
Senate Indian Affairs Committee business meeting, hearing (1/27)

Join the Conversation