National | Federal Recognition

BIA publishes list of federally recognized tribes on schedule

The Bureau of Indian Affairs is publishing its annual list of federally recognized tribes on schedule for the first time in years.

The Federally Recognized Indian Tribe List Act of 1994 requires the BIA to publish the list "annually on or before every January 30." But in the last five years, the agency was late four times and didn't publish it at all in 2011.

This year is different. Tomorrow's issue of the Federal Register will contain a list of 566 federally recognized tribes in the lower 48 and Alaska.

"The listed Indian entities are acknowledged to have the immunities and privileges available to federally recognized Indian tribes by virtue of their government-to-government relationship with the United States as well as the responsibilities, powers, limitations and obligations of such tribes," the notice, which was signed by Assistant Secretary Kevin Washburn, states.

Except for name changes, the list does not contain any new additions from last year's.

Forthcoming Federal Register Notice:
Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services from the United States (To Be Published January 29, 2014)

Related Stories:
BIA is late to publish annual list of federally recognized tribes (5/6)

Join the Conversation