Justice Department honors attorneys who work on Cobell case
The Department of Justice honored five attorneys for their work on the Indian trust fund lawsuit.

Michael F. Hertz, Deputy Assistant Attorney General; J. Christopher Kohn, Director; Robert Kirschman, Deputy Branch Director; John T. Stemplewicz, Special Litigation Counsel; and Michael J. Quinn, Trial Attorney, were honored during the 58th Annual Attorney General’s Awards Ceremony yesterday.

They were singled out for their "extraordinary work in achieving a resolution of the Cobell v. Salazar litigation that is fair to the plaintiffs, and encourages a better relationship between the Department of the Interior (DOI) and the hundreds of thousands of Native Americans with whom it has a trust relationship," Main Justice reported.

At least three of the attorneys -- Kirschman, Stemplewicz and Quinn -- have been working on the case since the Bush administration.

Get the Story:
List of Honorees at Attorney General’s Awards Ceremony (Main Justice 10/27)
Transcript: Attorney General Eric Holder Speaks at the 58th Annual Attorney General’s Awards Ceremony (DOJ 10/26)