NIEA elects six board members at convention
The National Indian Education Association elected six new board members at its annual convention last month.

A record number of voters chose the six among 20 candidates for the board. The winners were: Skaweniio Barnes (Mohawk), Dr. Teresa Makuakane Drechsel (Native Hawaiian, Denny Hurtado (Skokomish), Kevin Killer (Oglala Lakota), Mary Jane Oatman Wak-Wak (Nez Perce) and Patricia Whitefoot (Yakama/Dine’).

Robert Cook, a member of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, is serving as NIEA president.

Get the Story:
Second Oglala man Joins NIEA board (The Rapid City Journal 11/13)

Related Stories:
NIEA to hold annual conference in Washington (10/13)