Oklahoma honors original Dawes Roll allottees
Eight original Dawes Roll alottees were honored by the state of Oklahoma on Monday.

All eight were born before Oklahoma became a state in 1907. They received 160 acres of former tribal reservations.

"They not only witnessed history, they lived it,” Gov. Brad Henry said, The Oklahoman reported. "They are our history.

Martha Berryhill, 107, of the Muscogee Creek Nation; Georgia Mae Roebuck Self, 103, and Ruby Lee Trammell Brewer, 102, of the Choctaw Nation; and Daisy Hawley Blackbird, 105, of the Chickasaw Nation attended the ceremony.

Eva Cheek Gilbert, 105, and Asa Glenn Purcell, 102, of the Cherokee Nation; and Dorothy Arnote West, 105, and Irene Exodus Roberts Mills, 103, of the Choctaw Nation weren't able to make it.

Get the Story:
Eight initial Dawes allottees honored in Capitol (The Tulsa World 5/13)
State celebrates eight Indians as living history (The Oklahoman 5/13)
Dawes Roll allottees honored (AP 5/12)