Six Indians named to Democratic committees

Correction: Chuck Hoskin, who is Cherokee, is a state legislator from Oklahoma, not Nebraska.

Six tribal members have been named to three standing committees for the 2008 Democratic National Convention.

Laura Harris (Comanche), the executive director of Americans for Indian Opportunity, and Montana State Sen. Carol Juneau (Hidatsa/Mandan) were named to the Credentials Committee.

Oklahoma State Rep. Chuck Hoskin (Cherokee) and Marc Macarro (Pechanga) were named to the Platform Committee. Macarro is the chairman of the Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians of California.

Joe Garcia (Ohkay Owingeh) and Cinda Hughes (Cherokee/Kiowa) were named to the Rules Committee. Garcia is president of the National Congress of American Indians, where Hughes works as a legislative associate.

"The Democratic Party has always been a champion of Indian Country and this historic election is no different," said Frank LaMere, chair of the DNC's Native American Coordinating Council and a member of the Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska.

The convention takes place August 25-28, 2008, in Denver, Colorado.

Get the Story:
DNC Elects Six Native American Members to 2008 Democratic National Convention Standing Committees (The Native American Times 1/18)

$rl 2008 Democratic National Convention -
Democratic National Committee -