New Mexico Pueblos welcome new slate of leaders
A new year usually means a new slate of leaders at the 19 Pueblos in New Mexico.

In most pueblos, the leaders are chosen by tribal elders. The terms can last for one, two or four years.

Several pueblos choose their leaders by popular vote. Their elections were held as recently as Tuesday.

Among all the pueblos, Joe Garcia, the president of the National Congress of American Indians, was elected to a four year-term as chairman of the All Indian Pueblo Council. He also serves as chairman of the Eight Northern Indian Pueblos Council.

Get the Story:
2007 ushers in new leaders for New Mexico's pueblos (The Santa Fe New Mexican 1/3)
Pueblo council elects new leaders (AP 12/29)

Relevant Links:
Indian Pueblo Cultural Center -