Tribes mark anniversary of Little Bighorn battle

Cheyenne, Lakota and Arapaho leaders gathered on Monday to mark the 131st anniversary of the June 26, 1876, Battle at Little Bighorn in Montana.

The Northern Cheyenne Tribe of Montana, the Oglala Sioux Tribe of South Dakota, the Rosebud Sioux Tribe of South Dakota and the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma reaffirmed their participation in the battle and vowed to work together to protect important places in their histories. "Our fight to save our sacred sites will be done using our humanity, spirit and law," said Northern Cheyenne President Eugene Little Coyote, The Billings Gazette reported.

"History has shown when the Lakota, Arapaho and Cheyenne are united they are unbeaten," said Oglala Sioux council member Jake Little.

The Morning Star Riders, mostly from the Northern Cheyenne Tribe, also honored the warriors who fought at the battle and defeated Lt. Col. George Custer and the 7th Cavalry. About 70 riders took part, up from five a few years ago.

Get the Story:
Tribes reaffirm ties at Bighorn site (The Billings Gazette 6/26)