President-elect Biden names transition team members

The Biden-Harris Transition announced key members of the agency review teams (ARTs), which are responsible for evaluating the operations of the federal agencies.

November 10, 2020

Biden-Harris Transition Team Announces Members of Agency Review Teams

Formation of Agency Review Teams Among the First Steps to Building a Successful Administration

WASHINGTON – Today, the Biden-Harris Transition announced key members of the agency review teams (ARTs), which are responsible for evaluating the operations of the federal agencies so that the incoming Biden-Harris administration is prepared to lead our country on Day One. The ARTs are composed of highly experienced and talented professionals with deep backgrounds in key policy areas across the federal government. The teams possess a diversity of perspectives critical to addressing America’s most urgent and complex challenges.

“Our nation is grappling with a pandemic, an economic crisis, urgent calls for racial justice, and the existential threat of climate change. We must be prepared for a seamless transfer of knowledge to the incoming administration to protect our interests at home and abroad. The agency review process will help lay the foundation for meeting these challenges on Day One,” said Senator Ted Kaufman, Co-Chair, Biden-Harris Transition. “The work of the agency review teams is critical for protecting national security, addressing the ongoing public health crisis, and demonstrating that America remains the beacon of democracy for the world.”

The transition’s work continues full steam ahead. The agency review teams will proceed by meeting with former agency officials and experts who closely follow federal agencies, and with officials from think tanks, labor groups, trade associations, and other NGOs. Further, many of the ART members have had long careers in the federal agencies they will now help prepare for the incoming Biden-Harris administration.

Once the GSA Administrator ascertains the results of the election, the ART members will work directly with staff in federal agencies to ensure that the incoming Biden-Harris administration is able to effectively achieve the policy goals of the President and Vice President-elect.

Finally, President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris are proud to have one of the most diverse agency review teams in presidential transition history. Of the hundreds of ART members to be announced, more than half are women, and approximately 40 percent represent communities historically underrepresented in the federal government, including people of color, people who identify as LGBTQ+, and people with disabilities. The President-elect and Vice President-elect are committed to building an administration that looks like America.

Find more information here.


See names of interest below in large type. Email or share @indianz the names of other noteworthy transition team members.

Department of Health and Human Services

The Department of Health and Human Services team will also review the Consumer Product Safety Commission.

Name Most Recent Employment Source of Funding
Chiquita Brooks-LaSure, Team Lead Manatt, Phelps and Phillips, LLP Volunteer
Robert Gordon, Team Lead State of Michigan, Department of Health & Human Services Volunteer
Kathryn Alvarez The Aspen Institute Volunteer
John Auerbach Trust for America’s Health Volunteer
Lisa Barclay Boies Schiller Flexner, LLP Volunteer
Jonathan Blum Health Management Associates Volunteer
Lu Borio In-Q-Tel Volunteer
Perrie Briskin University of California, Berkeley Volunteer
Ken Choe Hogan Lovells, LLP Volunteer
Henry Claypool Self-employed Volunteer
Jose Cordero University of Georgia Volunteer
Sarah Despres Pew Charitable Trusts Volunteer
Eliot Fishman Families USA Volunteer
Cristal Gary AMITA Health Volunteer
Mina Hsiang Devoted Health Volunteer
Tom Inglesby Johns Hopkins University Volunteer
David C. Kaslow PATH Volunteer
Natalie Kates Alloy Volunteer
Jeremy Konyndyk Center for Global Development Volunteer
Anna Martinez State of New Jersey, Department of Children and Families, Division on Women Volunteer
Sarah Nolan Service Employees International Union Volunteer
Yngvild Olsen Institutes for Behavior Resources, Inc. Volunteer
Edwin Park Georgetown University Volunteer
Sharon Parrott Center on Budget and Policy Priorities Volunteer
Chuck Peck Guidehouse, Inc. Volunteer
Anne Reid Co-Equal Volunteer

Geoff Roth

Self-employed Volunteer
Meena Seshamani MedStar Health Volunteer
Cyrus Shahpar Resolve to Save Lives, an initiative of Vital Strategies Volunteer
Mary Wakefield University of Texas at Austin Volunteer

Department of the Interior

The Department of the Interior team will also review the National Indian Gaming Commission, the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, the Commission on Fine Arts, the Denali Commission, the Appalachian Regional Commission, the Delta Regional Authority, and the Northern Border Regional Commission.

Name Most Recent Employment Source of Funding

Kevin Washburn, Team Lead

University of Iowa Volunteer

Bob Anderson

Harvard Law School Volunteer
Bret Birdsong The Nevada System of Higher Education Volunteer
Shannon Estenoz The Everglades Foundation Volunteer
Chris Goranson Carnegie Mellon University, The Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy Volunteer

Janie Hipp

Native American Agriculture Fund Volunteer
Kate Kelly Center for American Progress Volunteer
Elizabeth Klein New York University, School of Law, State Energy & Environmental Impact Center Volunteer
Amanda Leiter American University, Washington College of Law Volunteer
Molly McUsic Wyss Foundation Volunteer
Maggie Thomas Evergreen Action Volunteer
Tanya Trujillo Colorado River Sustainability Campaign Volunteer

Small Business Administration

Name Most Recent Employment Source of Funding
Jonathan Swain, Team Lead Harvard University Volunteer
Xavier Briggs New York University Volunteer
Liyan David Chang Devoted Health Volunteer
Michele Chang Markle Foundation Volunteer
Michael Chodos Medsphere Systems Corporation Volunteer
Isabel Guzman State of California, Governor’s Office of Business & Economic Development Volunteer
Bibi Hidalgo Future Partners LLC Volunteer
David Hinson Ategra Capital Management Volunteer

Chris James

The National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development Volunteer
Clifton Kellogg C-PACE Alliance Volunteer
Ellen Kim Roti Modern Mediterranean Volunteer
Arthur Plews Stripe Volunteer
Michael Roth Next Street Volunteer
Meredith Shaffer Public Private Strategies Volunteer
Jorge Silva-Puras Universidad del Sagrado Corazón in San Juan Volunteer
    1 mission drive
    winnebago, ne 68071

    Follow Us