Senate panel approves Leavitt nomination for EPA
Thursday, October 16, 2003

The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee voted 16-2 on Wednesday to confirm Utah Gov. Mike Leavitt (D) as head of the Environmental Protection Agency.

Sens. Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-N.Y.) and Joseph I. Lieberman (D-Conn.) voted against Leavitt. Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.) boycotted in protest.

Democrats were holding up the nomination in order to obtain more information from the Bush administration. They are pointing to a new memo, written by former EPA head Christine Todd Whitman and made public by an environmental group, that warned of weakening air pollution rules.

Get the Story:
Panel Approves Leavitt's Nomination for PA (The Washington Post 10/16)
Committee Approves E.P.A. Nominee, Setting Up Floor Fight (The New York Times 10/16)
Username: indianzcom, Password: indianzcom

Related Stories:
Democrats block vote on Leavitt for EPA post (10/02)
Senate Democrats grill EPA nominee at hearing (09/24)
Senate committee to hold hearing on EPA nominee (9/23)
EPA nominee promotes public-private partnerships (08/15)
Opponent to tribe's waste plans headed to D.C. (8/12)

All stories in the Indianz.Com Archive are available for publishing under a Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)