NAIHC chooses Bay Mills Chippewa woman as chairperson
The National American Indian Housing Council elected a new chairperson at its 36th annual convention.

Cheryl Causley, a member of the Bay Mills Indian Community of Michigan, will serve as chair. She is executive director of her tribe's housing authority and a former NAIHC vice chair.

Causley defeated three others for the post. The election was held at NAIHC's meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, last month.

At the meeting, NAIHC appointed Floyd Tortalita, executive director of the Pueblo of Acoma Housing Authority, as vice chair; Donna Sue Hay, Chippewa Cree Housing Authority executive director, as secretary; and Russell Sossamon, Choctaw Nation Housing Authority executive director, as treasurer.

Get the Story:
NAIHC elects new chairperson (Indian Country Today 6/4)