Fort Belknap council swears in five new members
The Fort Belknap Indian Community of Montana swore in five new members to the tribal council on Wednesday.

Voters ousted five incumbents in an election on Tuesday. Three council members kept their seats.

The new council members are Marilyn Bigby, William "Snuffy" Main, Max G. White Jr. and Andrew R. Werk Jr. Tracy "Ching" King, John A. Allen and Kermit Horn kept their jobs.

The council represents the Gros Ventre Tribe and the Assiniboine Tribe. Each tribe gets four positions.

The positions of President Julia Doney and Vice President Raymond Chandler won't be up for election until 2009.

Get the Story:
Fort Belknap elections oust five incumbents (The Great Falls Tribune 11/8)

Relevant Links:
Fort Belknap Community Council -