A record four Indian lawmakers in Washington

A record four tribal members are serving in the Washington Legislature this session.

Don Barlow, a member of the Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma, and Claudia Kauffman, a member of the Nez Perce Tribe of Idaho, are new to the state Senate. John McCoy, a member of the Tulalip Tribes of Washington, and Jeff Morris, who is Tsimshian, serve in the state House.

"It's the most ever," Jacqueline Johnson, the executive director of the National Congress of American Indians, told The Seattle Times.

All four candidates are among those who have benefited from INDN's List, or Indigenous Democratic Network, a group that helps tribal members seek and win public office. "We love Washington," Kalyn Free, the president of INDN's List, said.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 64 Native Americans are serving in 14 states. Oklahoma, with 18 Indian lawmakers, has the most, followed by Alaska and Montana are next with nine each and New Mexico with six.

Get the Story:
More Natives step into Legislature (The Seattle Times 1/9)

Related Stories:
Nez Perce woman wins election in Washington (11/17)
Indian lawmaker finds racism alive in Washington (11/09)
Nez Perce woman ahead in bid for Washington Senate (11/8)
Another Seattle paper backs Nez Perce woman (10/20)
Seattle Times endorses Nez Perce woman in primary (09/15)
Indian lawmaker cleared in ethics investigation (08/25)
Indian lawmaker says bill won't exclude tribes (04/11)
Tulalip tribal member re-elected in Washington (11/03)
Indian candidates take the next step in politics (10/25)
Indian lawmaker challenged over tribal support (10/20)
Indian lawmaker wants courses in tribal studies (01/27)
Indian lawmaker in Wash. provides hope to students (01/09)
Share this Story!

You are enjoying stories from the Indianz.Com Archive, a collection dating back to 2000. Some outgoing links may no longer work due to age.

All stories in the Indianz.Com Archive are available for publishing via Creative Commons License: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)